Advance Your Engineering Career

With growing need for advanced materials and sustainable energy, there is high demand for innovation and new leadership in mechanical engineering fields. A master’s or PhD makes you more competitive and can help you reach even the most ambitious career goals. The Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Department offers research-intensive degree pathways for students pursuing careers in R&D, national labs, or higher education. A non-thesis track is designed for those who want to increase their technical knowledge and expand career opportunities. Our graduate programs are led by award-winning faculty who provide high quality teaching and real-world learning experiences. If you’re ready to advance your career, a graduate degree in mechanical engineering from USU can help you get there.

Choose the degree path that’s right for you. All programs are offered face-to-face at the USU Logan campus.

Studing using equipment in one of our labs

Degrees Offered

Master of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering

  • Plan A: coursework plus thesis. Designed for students considering a PhD or career that requires research experience.
  • Plan B: coursework plus research report. Ideal for students pursuing engineering careers that require advanced design experience.
  • Plan C: coursework only. Designed to help students increase their technical knowledge and expand career opportunities.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Mechanical Engineering

The PhD is a research-intensive program for students pursuing advanced leadership roles or who plan to teach engineering at 4-year colleges and universities. Students can begin the PhD program with a bachelor’s or master’s degree.

Student Stories

Nazmus Sakib
Robert Hansen
Sabrina Snow

Research Areas

  • –Fluid Dynamics
  • –Heat Transfer
  • –Material Science
  • –Microscale/Nanoscale Science
  • –Nuclear Energy and Materials
  • –Numerical Methods
  • –Renewable Energy
  • –Solid Mechanics

Faculty

Ryan Berke

Ryan Berke

Material Science, Nuclear Energy and Materials, Solid Mechanics

ryan.berke@usu.edu

Som Dutta

Som Dutta

Fluid Dynamics, Heat Transfer, Nuclear Energy and Materials, Numerical Methods

som.dutta@usu.edu

Thomas Fronk

Thomas Fronk

Nuclear Energy and Materials, Solid Mechanics

thomas.fronk@usu.edu

Doug Hunsaker

Doug Hunsaker

Aeronautics, Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Methods,

doug.hunsaker@usu.edu

Nadia Kouraytem

Nadia Kouraytem

Nuclear Energy and Materials

nadia.kouraytem@usu.edu

Juhyeong Lee

Juhyeong Lee

Aerospace Materials and Structures

juhyeong.lee@usu.edu

Nick Roberts

Nick Roberts

Heat Transfer, Material Science, Microscale/Nanoscale Science, Nuclear Energy & Materials, Renewable Energy

nick.roberts@usu.edu

Barton Smith

Barton Smith

Fluid Dynamics, Heat Transfer, Nuclear Energy & Materials

barton.smith@usu.edu

Yanqing Su

Yanqing Su

Fluid Dynamics, Material Science, Microscale/Nanoscale Science, Nuclear Energy and Materials, Solid Mechanics

yanqing.su@usu.edu

Hailei Wang

Hailei Wang

Heat Transfer, Nuclear Energy & Materials, Renewable Energy

hailei.wang@usu.edu

Haoran Wang

Haoran Wang

Material Science, Microscale/Nanoscale Science, Numerical Methods, Renewable Energy, Solid Mechanics

haoran.wang@usu.edu

Zhongquan “Charlie” Zheng

Zhongquan “Charlie” Zheng

Fluid Dynamics, Heat Transfer

zzheng@usu.edu

Facilities

Experimental Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

Experimental Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

This facility is equipped with the latest velocity diagnostics tools and a large transient mixed convection wind tunnel.
Flash Lab

Flash Lab

One of our newest facilities, the Flash Lab enables hands-on learning with high-speed cameras and a Schlieren Imaging System.
Advanced Materials Lab

Advanced Materials Lab

Design and build modern composite structures and components using the latest tools and a dedicated curing oven.

Ready to Apply?

Minimum Requirements

  • –GRE scores: Quantitative ≥ 70th percentile and Verbal ≥ 40th percentile
  • –Bachelor's in mechanical or aerospace engineering from an accredited program
  • –Minimum 3.3 GPA
  • –Familiarity with FORTRAN, C, or MATLAB
  • –International students have additional requirements

Application Materials

  • –Official Transcript
  • –TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreien Language) Exam
  • –Resume
  • –Letter of Recommendation
  • –Statement of Purpose (approx. 750 words)

Contact Us

Ready to learn more? Before applying to the USU School of Graduate Studeis, contact Joan Rudd to explore current funding and enrollment opportunities.

Joan Rudd

Graduate Program Coordinator

435-797-0330
joan.rudd@usu.edu
ENGR 417

Joan Rudd

Learn More