Become a Bio-Innovations Leader

Biological engineering is the next frontier of innovation. A graduate degree in biological engineering prepares students for exciting, high-paying career across multiple industries, including pharmaceuticals, biomaterials, water resources, energy, bio-manufacturing, biomedical devices, and more. Utah State University offers a research-based graduate school experience led by award-winning faculty who take pride in teaching and mentorship. Through hands-on research with our industry partners, graduate students get real-world training and networking opportunities with some of the region’s leading biotech firms.

Choose the degree path that’s right for you. All programs are offered face-to-face at the USU Logan campus.

Biological Engineering student

Degrees Offered

Master of Science (MS) in Biological Engineering

  • Plan A: requires coursework and a thesis. Designed for students considering a PhD or career path that requires research experience.
  • Plan B: requires coursework and a research report. Designed to increase your technical knowledge while introducing the basics of research and evidence-based design.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Biological Engineering

The PhD is a research-intensive program for students pursuing advanced leadership roles in industry or government or who plan to teach engineering at 4-year colleges and universities. Students can begin the PhD program with a bachelor’s or master’s degree.

Student Stories

Hamza Abedellaoui
Chase Paterson
Jie Ren

Research Areas

  • –Biophotonics
  • –Synthetic Biological Engineering & Bio Manufacturing
  • –Gene Vector Engineering & Nanobiophotonics
  • –Tissue and Cellular Engineering
  • –Biology-Inspired Sensors and Biosensors
  • –Biofuels from Algae and Lignocellulose
  • –Metabolic Engineering
  • –Bioprocessing
  • –BioMEMS & Microbiofluidics

Faculty

Foster Agblevor

Foster Agblevor

Biofuels

foster.agblevor@usu.edu

David Britt

David Britt

Biomaterials

david.britt@usu.edu

Yu Huang

Yu Huang

Biomaterials, Tissue/Cellular Engineering

yu.huang@usu.edu

Charles Miller

Charles Miller

Cellular Engineering

charles.miller@usu.edu

Keith Roper

Keith Roper

Gene Vector Engineering & Nanobiophotonics

keith.roper@usu.edu

Ron Sims

Ron Sims

Bioprocess Engineering

ron.sims@usu.edu

Tim Taylor

Tim Taylor

Bioprocess Engineering

tim.taylor@usu.edu

Elizabeth Vargis

Elizabeth Vargis

Tissue and Cellular Engineering

elizabeth.vargis@usu.edu

Jixun Zhan

Jixun Zhan

Metabolic Engineering

jixun.zhan@usu.edu

Anhong Zhou

Anhong Zhou

Biosensors

anhong.zhou@usu.edu

Facilities

Algae Products and Processing Facility

Algae Products and Processing Facility

The APP enables robust research in sustainable engineering and bio-based manufacturing with a focus on cultivating algae.
Class-1000 Clean Room

Class-1000 Clean Room

Used for building and evaluating nano/microscale devices and developing materials in an environment with little to no pollutants.
USTAR BioInnovations Center

USTAR BioInnovations Center

This facility houses multiple labs including the USTAR Bioenergy Center
Sustainable Waste to BioProducts Engineering Center

Sustainable Waste to BioProducts Engineering Center

SWBEC is focused on generating technologies that promote sustainability by converting wastes into bioproducts. Learn more about Sustainable Waste to BioProducts Engineering Center.

Ready to Apply?

Minimum Requirements

  • –Bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution
  • –Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • –TOEFL or IELTS score

Application Materials

  • –Official Transcripts
  • –Three Letters of Recommendation
  • –Statement of Purpose (approx. 700 words)

Contact Us

Before applying to the USU School of Graduate Studies, contact Lauren Shanley to explore current funding and enrollment opportunities.

Lauren Shanley

Graduate Program Coordinator

435-797-1041
lauren.shanley@usu.edu
ENGR 402H

Lauren Shanley

Learn More