Skip to main content

MAE Undergraduate Student Awards

Each year during National Engineering Week (E-Week), the MAE Department recognizes its students, alumni, and faculty for outstanding academic performance and service.

Brandon Paulsen Award

Given to a graduating senior who selflessly helps fellow students and has demonstrated academic excellence, ethical behavior, an ability to work well in teams, and a dependable and diligent work ethic. This award is given in honor of Brandon Paulsen (BS '97, MS '98) who, as an MAE student, demonstrated these attributes. Brandon passed away in 2005 from cancer.

2016 Mitch Baugh
2015 David Stringham
2014 Tyson Kesler
2013 Clair Hawkins
2012 Amanda Johnson
2011 Tyson Watkins

2010 Robert Merrill
2009 Nicholus C. McKee
2008 Matthew Fifield
2007 Eric Callister
2006 Travis Moesser

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes dedication and service to fellow students and the community.

2016 Jose Campos
2015 Landon Hillyard
2014 Bruce Hoffman
2013 Trevin Hafen
2012 Dallin Jackson
2011 Annika Jensen

2010 Steve Schwab
2009 Sara Driggs
2008 Spencer Naser
2007 Stephen Barker
2006 Paul J. Bernards


Recognizes MAE's top graduating senior with the highest GPA.

2016 Karen DeMille
2015 Jesse Spackman
2014 Bryan Stringham
2013 Ruth Miller
2012 Brock Wiberg
2011 Justin Koeln

2010 Jeff Harris
2009 Stanford Rosen
2008 Jacob Haderlie
2007 Eric Callister
2006 Randall Christensen
2005 Benjamin Andersen

Outstanding Senior, Junior, and Pre-Professional

Recognizes academic excellence as evidenced by a high GPA.

Year Senior Junior Pre-Professional
2016 Nathan Stacey Brad Siler Jackson Matsen
2015 Karson Halverson Karen DeMille Joshua Goates
2014 Tyson Kesler Jesse Spackman Shaun Harris
2013 Ruth Miller Bryan Stringham Zachary Christensen
2012 Brock Wiberg Devin Baird Bryan Stringham
2011 Justin Koeln Brock Wiberg Kyle Mackay
2010 Jeff Harris Ryuichi Yamamoto Jordan Brimley
2009 Stanford Rosen Benjamin Griffiths Ryuichi Yamamoto
2008 Jacob Haderlie Blake Rusch Benjamin Griffiths
2007 Eric Callister Colby Jensen Blake Rusch
2006 Randall Christensen Jared Bench Andrew C. Johnson
2005 Benjamin Andersen Randall Christensen Eric Callister

Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher

Recognizes committment to and excellence in research.

2016 Benjamin Vegel
2015 Shaun Harris
2014 Benjamin White
2013 Ryan Martineau
2012 Crystal Frazier
2011 Blake Lance

2010 Justin Koeln
2009 Michael Lambert
2008 Brandon Wilson
2007 Cameron King
2006 Zac Humes