Skip to main content

Department Head position — Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Utah State University (USU) invites applications for the position of Department Head of the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) Department. The Department seeks exceptional candidates with a track record of (1) research and scholarship supported by federal, state, and/or industry funding; (2) effective undergraduate and graduate teaching; (3) leadership/mentorship experience, and (4) a commitment to inclusion and diversity. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.

Applicants, please apply through


Primary responsibilities of the Department Head include, but are not limited to:

Leadership in the department's academic, research, service, and ABET accreditation activities.

The Department Head is expected to understand scholarship and the ability to articulate and promote scholarly excellence for student and faculty success. The Department Head will foster a positive, collegial climate and participatory decision-making process within the department that promotes excellence in the department’s programs. Faculty mentoring in all aspects of their career growth is considered an important responsibility of the Department Head.

Administrative responsibility for the department’s organizational performance.

The Department Head is responsible for fiscal planning and oversight of the department’s budgets and resources, and for management of processes and procedures relating to human resources including recruitment, career development, performance evaluations, and retention of faculty and staff.

Promote the department within and outside the University.

The Department Head is expected to establish effective liaisons with other departments, college and university administration, government agencies, industry and alumni. The ultimate goals are to increase the public and professional recognition for the department, and to attract resources that strengthen and broaden the department’s research, teaching, and service missions.

Search Committee

Jake Gunther

Search Chair

Doug Hunsaker

Committee member

Ling Liu

Committee member

Bart Smith

Committee member

Tadd Truscott

Committee member